It’s not okay: acceptance

I have heard a lot of people saying really gracious things. “We have to accept the election results” “We have to give him the benefit of the doubt” “We have to believe he will rise to the occasion”.  “We can’t act like the republicans have acted the last 8 years”.  “We go high”. “We have to wait and watch”. I get it.  I really do.  I am not going to act childish.  I am not going to refuse to accept the election results.  I am not going to be a martyr or stoop to rock bottom level. I am not going to hate.

But here is what I am going to do.  I am going to fight.  I am going to advocate.  I am going to be a voice.  I am going to hold people accountable.  I am never going to let racist, homophobic, xenophobic, misogynistic views be okay.

elie-wiesel-quote-on-the-oppressor-and-the-victim

I will not be complacent.  I will not be a bystander.  I will peacefully protest.  I will be proactive in the fight for equality.  It has always been easy to talk about social justice.  It has always been easy to be make assumptions that passive support is enough support.  And this is what happens when I feel that equality is moving in the right direction.  When I make assumptions that we will keep moving forward. When I believe that because marriage equality has happened it can’t go away.

Now I know better.  A passive approach is not the way.  I listened to over a year of campaign promises from a man I never believed could be president and I was passive.  I was outraged.  I was furious.  But I never thought it could happen.  He talked about “grabbing pussys”for crying out loud!  He insulted and mocked a reporter with a disability!   He was okay with the fact that the KKK supported his candidacy.  He is nominating people to his circle of advisers that are openly white supremacists.  He insulted and degraded ever group of people that are not white heterosexual males.  And that is just the tip of the iceberg.

200132-if-you-are-neutral-in-situations-of-injustice-you-have-chosen-the-side-of-the-oppressor

It is a part of my white privilege that I did not consider it could happen.  Well no more.  It happened.  It should not have and I did not do enough.  So I will not be passive and I will not assume the best.  I will not stand back and wait.  I will be active. I will be assertive (not aggressive, assertive).  I will hold people accountable.  I will not be okay with people hiding and justifying their vote.  It is overdue for me to show up.  And if our president elect does good things, the I will applaud him.  But truly good things cannot be done with bad motivation.

52112-elie-wiesel-indifference-quote

And I will do all this out of love and hope.  But my love and my hope are fueled by anger.  And I know that’s okay.

*here are some links where people said what I am trying to say a lot better:

Cory Booker

A Time for Refusal

Alarmism

 

3 thoughts on “It’s not okay: acceptance

Leave a Reply

