Some things I’m loving lately:

I follow a blog called “The Bloggess” and she is seriously the funniest blogger in the world and she makes my day. She is an author and a blogger for a living and she talks about a lot of great things, both serious and humorous, but one thing I respect is her honesty about depression.

Now, I have been off the past month or so, I am not saying “depressed”, but certainly I have had those days and I am feeling just a bit below the surface not quite able to break through to a place of clarity and confidence. (Don’t worry, I bought a book: 10% Happier, by Dan Harris).
71YWAijk8DL

All that to say, it is time to pull to the surface some of the things I am really loving lately. These are the things that give me a smile when I am bummed out, bring my passion back to the surface when I am feeling helpless or help understand myself better.

And that is where I will start. Thank goodness for Buzzfeed. These great quizzes have really helped me understand the root of who I am. In the past few weeks I have learned the following things:

Welcome-to-Italy-bannerMy hippie name is Breeze, my birthday means I am joyous and optimistic, I should live in Italy, my career should be a writer, my harry potter house is Gryfindor and my Patronus is an eagle (I may have taken those a few times to get those results) Openness is the quality that secretly attracts me to someone, and Rupert Grint is my “Ginger” Soul mate.

I have also been diving back into reading. The last few years I have spent a lot of my free time, making up for 5 years of no t.v. Between Hulu and Netflix I have now watched every episode of every show I have ever wanted to watch. Which is great in the moment, but at the end of the day just makes me feel depressed and lazy.

houseI am a huge fan of audible so I am constantly listening to a book while I drive, but I am not actually reading them. And as cliché as it sounds, there really is just something heartwarming about reading a book. A few of my recent favorites are: You Before Me and One Plus One by Jojo Moyes, almost anything by Liane Moriarty and the newer Jodi Picoult’s. Those are nice easy warm and fuzzy books. In the Memoir department I have enjoyed Wild by Cheryl Strayed, A House in the Sky by Amanda Lindhout. For something that takes place in another time or culture I enjoyed The Pearl that Broke it’s Shell, and Have No Shame and finally a good soul searching thinking book is The Revised Fundamentals of Caregiving.

14594_10152938547439805_5921905686062534196_nI have found joy in taking my puppy for walks in the quiet winter woods, drinking Bourbon Sours, Manhattans and red wine. I have been teaching a class on community and social justice which has brought me to a lot of great documentaries and fantastic class discussions.

48b7059e515b479eb2220581408415d3The new drink at Starbucks, The Flat White, is a great pick me up in the morning or for that mid afternoon hump. And of course spending too much time on pinterest finding inspiring quotes to mediate upon… And if that doesn’t work, searching “auto correct fails” or “ecards”.
114440fe49968c7d15bfdf5cea1a620c37d3358e2ebf13a774f259052cc7b1c0

d35c4d57a66d448f3ef4cd771086b750

And when all else fails, I go strait to youtube where I have 2 guilty pleasures;
1. Watching all the song/performaces from every Glee episode ever (Especially focusing on Cory Montieth)
And when all else fails I go strait to youtube where I have two guilty pleasures:
We are Young
Loser Like Me
The Talented Mr. Shue: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wrskl2xlbmc
The New Kids: Some Nights
And of course this beautiful moment: To Sir With Love
(Don’t stop here… just keep watching more!
2. Digging up class Jim Gaffigan or Louis Ck comedy bits. (Or Ellen, or Dmitry
Camping
SNL monologe
Thats Not Nancy
Super Busy Hosptial
What could possibly be better than singing, laughing coffee and reading? Summer. Summer could be better.
sunbeam

Leave a Reply

