Mr. Shue inspires

imagesIt’s been a while. Blogging is usually my outlet for processing, so since I have been out for a while, does that mean I am not processing? Or is it just healthy cause I am living life and not stuck in my head. Either way, here I am. And what brings me here is Glee.

I think every other person has given up on this show (Caryn? Are you still with me?) But I find myself always drawn back. There have been a few episodes through the seasons that make me roll my eyes, but last’s weeks episode (which I just watched tonight) spoke to me.

I will always struggle with being who I am. Who I truly want to be. Because I spent so much of my life trying to fit in. And I really feel like 95% of the time, I am the me I want to be. I still catch myself struggling with self esteem. I still question my abilities as a social worker, mother, wife, teacher, friend… But I am content at the end of the day. Actually I am fulfilled. Which, I think, is more than content.

There is this part of me though, that wants to do more. I want to be in the history books. I want to be a part of something huge. And I have a lot of ideas of what I want to change and how I want to change it, but we all know it is not that easy. I am not giving up, but I do sometimes need a reminder, that if I keep doing what I love and what I am passionate about, I am working towards that goal.

And tonight, that reminder was Glee. Here are some quotes that really made my heart happy tonight:
matt-morrison
“All great change comes from people who refused to get used to what was accepted, but wasn’t right” ~Mr. Shue

“Unfortunately you are not going to change the world overnight with some radical act of rebellion, you just need to keep finding the places you belong, and the people you belong with, and then you’ll have an army to fight along side of you until the world if finally brave enough to accept you for who you are” ~Mr. Shue

“No one should have to work so hard and risk so much just to be themselves” ~Mr. Shue

“Rebelling is one thing, but betraying who we are, that’s just not cool” ~Ryder

“We are who we are, no apologies necessary” ~Artie

One thought on “Mr. Shue inspires

  1. I’m still with you! I haven’t watched last week’s yet but now I’m excited to. 🙂 thanks for sharing.
    Every time I’m ready to give up, Glee pulls through with something powerful or inspiring. As they say, behaviors which are the hardest to eradicate are those which are intermittently reinforced. Way to intermittently reinforce my behavior, Glee, you keep me hooked.

Leave a Reply

