The Book is Always Better (except for Les Mis)

9a4c832c287c92d14e47d93af13c1286I get a lot of my reading material from the library, and quite honestly, my library is very lacking in good reading material. Thankfully my library will work with other area libraries and I can get books delivered to mine easily. So the process goes like this:
1. Go on amazon, find a book I loved.
2. Write down all the “readers who bought this book, also bought these books”
3. Log onto my library and put 10 books on hold.
4. Wait.
Usually there is a huge dry spell and then 8 books arrive all on one day. And I have three weeks to read them. Bring on the challenge.
e1241846e058aa2cf4972e83f3d6732d
I also have an account at Audible. For $12.00 a month I get one book to download. I listen to these books on my way to and from work (about a 25 min commute) and all the driving I do for work. I pick the longest books I can, hoping they last the month because most of them are $25.00 so I can not afford a to buy one on my own.
ff9e5223cd900bc4c7a0de48c4349026
All this to say I have read a lot of books in the last few months. And summer is a great time to read, in a hammock, on the beach, in a lawn chair, on your couch on a rainy evening, on a road trip, with a glass of wine or the perfect summer drink: Gin and Tonic with lime (or cucumber).
e3ca0702b25f42890f9057e3e735f44f
Here is a list for you to get started with:
Someone Knows My Name, Lawrence Hill
the story of a slave from her happy childhood in Africa to her life as a slave in America and then to Freedom in England and everything in between.
The Glass Castle, Jeannette Walls
A memoir of a girl who grew up in a “non traditional”(i.e. CRAZY family) and how she managed to survive and thrive
And the Mountains Echoed, Khaled Hosseini (author of The Kite Runner)
THe Round House, Louise Erdrich
The Kitchen House, Kathleen Grissom
A story of a slave family and their owners
The Language of Flowers,Vannessa Diffenbaugh
A child who grew up in the foster system trying to live independently for the first time while making peace with her past.
In the Shadow of the Banyan, Vaddey Ratner
A child’s life during the Genocide in Cambodia
The Sand Castle Girls, Chris Bojalian
A story of a women learning of her family’s past in the Armenian Genodice
Run, Ann Pachett
Another adoption/foster care families coming together story
State of Wonder, Ann Pachett
This book will bring you to the heart of the Amazon where plants are found to hold the secret of youth…
0ce00303bfd7120cc685047793508da8
I realize these are all pretty intense subjects, but how else can we experience, at some tiny level, genocide and slavery, and neglect? I love to immerse myself in the culture of a book. To live for a few hours each day in the 1800’s or on another continent, or see the world through the eyes of a different mother.
da36712c58e57095bb7ffb0dd3e69158
If you are looking for some easy, light hearted beach novels, I would then recommend anything by Elin Hildebrand (all her books take place on Nantucket) or Maeve Binchey (An Irish author who’s stories take place in Dublin or London or other quite communities in Great Britain). Jennifer Weiner and Jane Green are also fun easy reads, Jennifer writes about female characters looking for love and they take place in Boston and Jane does the same, but from London…
fa5fbbf2621c41a7ae9db630794bbaff
I hope you all have a great summer of reading. I hope you all take one afternoon, put all tasks/jobs aside, find a comfy spot and crack open a book (or kindle or iPad) and get lost.
c2e20402642c26a3c6fb7eeca72f3ac0

One thought on “The Book is Always Better (except for Les Mis)

  1. I thought about reading State of Wonder, glad to know it’s recommended. Right now I am reading Resurrection by Tolstoy and that includes the dictionary. I also am reading my economics text book cover to cover. Going from pure social work back to stuff like economics is a culture shock, and a brain shock. Enjoying it and finding it useful nonetheless. Hope you are well!

Leave a Reply

