A short story with lots of background and pictures

imagesBefore I go into the real post here, I want to tell you about the other 23 hours of my day so that I do not give off the impression of being one of “those” moms. You know the ones; they are super invested in their children’s fun and can turn an empty roll of toilet paper into a work of art.

This morning I woke up at 9:00, because I was woken up, certainly not on my own. I am not sure what the children were doing, but I think one of them had potato chips for breakfast.

imagesI spent the morning in yoga pants and my husband’s hoodie eating peanut butter strait form the jar as I finished my lesson plans and intermittently checked facebook and watched the last week of The Daily Show.

So the reason I decided to have an adventure with my husband and children was purely so I would not be guilted into cleaning if I stayed at home. But as all adventures I take with my family, it turned about to be well worth the effort.

IMG_1599Last weekend we enjoyed a few days in D.C. exploring the mall, museums, metro and old town Alexandria.
IMG_1583

IMG_1569

IMG_1571

IMG_0171This weekend was looking much more grim. So Josh suggested geocaching. (Basically a scavenger hunt in the woods using a GPS, which I do not know how to use). Now, I like to appear woodsy and outdoorsy and often will put bandanas on my head to imply I have climbed a mountain, but the reality is, I usually choose the couch.
outdoorsy-getting-flirting-ecard-someecards

So all that background is there in case you feel guilty for not doing something outdoors with you children today, you clearly do not have to.

IMG_1666And really the story is, I went geocaching with my husband and kids today. (which is more of a sentence than a story so I had to add previous fluff to make it seem interesting.) And all of the above are really just reasons to post a few pictures of me looking awesome…
IMG_1668

IMG_1676

IMG_1674

IMG_1679

Leave a Reply

