Suprise Ending.

It is a cozy evening in the Zuidema household. The kids are simultaneously watching some Disney Show on the Ipad, playing the Wii and coloring, Josh is making about four different dishes for Thanksgiving dinner tomorrow and I am in the middle of grading Organizational Analysis papers from my students. 35. I need a break. So while tonight may be the biggest bar night of the year, I am happy to be procrastinating at home under my blanket with my computer.

I am a reader. Not a person who just reads a book now and then, but a reader. I immerse myself in books. I dive head first into other worlds through books. Books change my outlook on life. Books bring me to cultures and time periods I could never be a part of. Here is a previous post I wrote after being inspired by a book a few years ago: http://zuidemas.blogspot.com/2008/06/books.html

A great joy of mine is when I find an author that I just love. I have many of these… Barbara Kingsolver, Amy Tan, Maeve Binchey, Jodi Picoult, Anita Shreve, Chaim Potok, John Steinbeck, Jane Green, Jennifer Weiner, Tracy Chevalier, Ann Patchett, John Irvin… I could just go on and on…

Recently I have been very into Chris Bohjalian. His newest book Sand Castle Girls is wonderful. Wonderful. He is best know for Midwives, which is great, and has a handful of other really good books. A few weeks ago I started one of his older books, Double Bind. I downloaded it from my audible account and listen to it when I was in the car (great way to cope with all my boring time in the car). First of all I was not to thrilled with the Narrator. Then I just could not get into the plot. I just kept wondering where the author was going with the plot and the random stories and people that were involved. Normally I would have just given up, but I really like Bohjalian so I kept going, and getting irritated. It got to the point that I just had to know if he could redeem these hours of my life. And today, after 11 hours and 20 minutes, the end arrived. The last 7 minutes of that book knocked me off of my feet! It was like the ending of The Sixth Sense (you know “I see dead people”). It was such a crazy twist of an ending I feel like I need to start all over and listen to it again. Except it was so lame. So, all of this is my very long winded way of saying: Don’t read Double Bind, but do read all of the rest of Bohjalian’s books.

Footnote: if you are looking for something good to read, here are some great ones you may not find on the NYT best seller list: Half the Sky, The Alchemist, The Poisonwood Bible, Coming Home, The Girl with the Pearl Earing, What is the What, The Red Tent, A Fine Balance, The Memory Keepers Daughter, The Secret Life of Bees, The Thirteenth Tale, The Other Boleyn Girl, Infidel, Mark of the Lion Trilogy, Expecting Adam, 28 Stories of AIDS in Africa. That should keep you busy for awhile…

Leave a Reply

