passion needs no language

It is amazing to be a part of such a great group of people. It is amazing that somehow, despite our language and cultural differences, despite our government policies and procedures, we can learn together. The only thing that can help me make sense of this cultural contrast is the similarity of our passion. We all want children to be safe, loved, happy. We want them to have opportunities, to have joy, to have laughter. This may look different to all of us. A child’s opportunities may be different in Ethiopia, in Ghana, in the States. A family may be different in all of these places. But different is not bad. The essential goal is the same. Love, acceptance, safety, joy. Whether administrators, social workers, nanny’s or directors, we all have a role to play.

At home when I train, people are always ready to leave. People are ready for breaks… people sneak out early. We have things to do! We have places to go! I know when I am in a training, those last 15 minutes I check out. I think about what’s next…my to do list…if I leave on time, I can accomplish a,b and c, before I have to go home. Here, today, people asked questions, they added comments, the time did not matter. We stayed until well after 6pm, just so they could process, understand, plan. This is passion. This group of people wants to do what is best for children.

9 hours of training is long. 9 hours of trying to understand English, of trying to express yourself in a different language. But no one gives up. I cannot believe I get to be a part of something so powerful!

“A small body of determined spirits fired by an unquenchable faith in their mission can alter the course of history” Ghandi

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

