Today!

“When is the last time you did something for the first time?” This is the quote we saw at a store today (shopping in Glen Arbor with my mom and sister. We thought about this for a while. We could not come up with anything significant.

Then I read this blog from one of my favorite vegan bloggers: http://ohsheglows.com/2012/08/01/the-august-challenge/ Her inspiration was from Eleanor Roosevelt: “Do one thing a day that scares you.”

The day went on…it was a good one, a hike to the top of the dune, running down the dune to Lake MI, a long walk on the shore with the waves lapping at our feet. These are all great things, but they are things I love, things that need no convincing.

After an amazing dinner, I settled in the hammock while my dad and nephews went fishing, my mom sister and niece took a walk and my hubby dragged the water trampoline into the deep waters so the kids could jump in and swim. I cracked my book open, read a few lines and looked out into the water, it looked like fun.

Pause story for nice picture…

You have to understand, I don’t swim. Maybe in a pool on a hot day. Maybe I will wade in a lake if I can see the bottom. I certainly do not swim in the middle of the lake or go underwater.

“Do something ever day that scares you” Quiet Eleanor!
“When is the last time you did something for the first time?”….I have certainly not jumped off a water tramp into a lake…

I put my suit on, walked the 100 yards to the tramp and stood on the edge of deep dark water and psyched myself up to swim the last few feet. And I did! Then I had to really psych myself up to slide off it, get wet past my shoulders, actually go UNDERWATER! And guess what? I DID IT!

So…When was the last time you did something for the first time? Something that scares you? Today!

*author’s note. In looking for pictures to add to this post, I realized that I have a good year of doing things for the first time and things that scare me… Becoming a vegan and dutch dancing to name 2

Leave a Reply

