Attitude adjustment

“From everyone who has been given much, much will be demanded; and from the one who has been entrusted with much, much more will be asked.”

Luke 12:48

Last fall I was attending training and the presenter talked about having a theme song, a symbol, a word, a motto.  Something to focus on.  A goal to shoot for.  So I looked back onto my growing list of inspiring quotes, made a playlist of my theme songs and peeked at my dove and olive branch tattoo.  I have it covered.

Then New Years Resolutions started popping up everywhere.  I had already lost the weight, and made an exercise program, given up pop, candy, meat and dairy.  I have given up t.v and really don’t care about keeping my house perfect and laundry done so I just passed on the resolutions this year.

A few days ago I was taking an online webinar for supervisors and one of the discussion questions was about my office’s mission statement, my team’s goals related to that and I just relayed the same old goals that sound great on paper “Place more children in Christian families”.  Sure it is a great goal.  In my work it is what I strive for and outside of work, one of my greatest passions.

So even though I decided not to find my motto, resolution, mission statement, or whatever you want to call it, it found me.


Enter NPR.  Just a quick lunch trip to pick up a bowl of vegan chili and I decide to tune in hoping they are not talking politics.  And they were, it was a speech by our president that they had a sound bite from and he quoted Jesus when he said:

“From everyone who has been given much, much will be demanded; and from the one who has been entrusted with much, much more will be asked.

And I got it.  Right then and there on 120th and Riley with hot soup balancing on my lap.  It is so easy to find the problems.  To feel sorry for myself.  To think there is something bigger and better just out of my reach.  Instead of finding optimism in front of me I began to focus on the half empty glass.  This verse, filled my glass back up.

I will admit I am not the most religious person.  My Bible gathers a lot of dust.  I typically find inspiration for my faith in the secular world through music, books, words of wisdom from inspiring people and lately, the soundtrack of Les Miserables.  So it is unusual for me to be inspired by something as easy as the Bible.

I have been given much and entrusted with more.  I am one of the wealthiest people in the world.  I have resources knocking my doors down.  I have an education, I have worldly experience.  I even have an audience.  On a daily basis I have children, coworkers, clients, friends, my community and even beyond… I am expected to do good with that.  I am expected to share what I know and feel and want to fight for.  I don’t have to be in Washington D.C. to do this.  I don’t have to have a Ph.D to do this (which is a good thing cause as much as I would like to pursue one, I couldn’t pass the GRE to even have a chance).

All I have to have is what I have been given.  And when I stop to think about it, I have been given ALOT.

I better get a good night’s sleep as tomorrow I have a lot of stuff that needs doing!

Leave a Reply

