Vegan for a week

It all started with an envelope in the mail.  Innocent enough right?  I had been feeling fatigued lately, having trouble focusing, just off my game so I decided I should check in with my doctor.  I had diagnoses myself with vitamin deficincy… maybe a dose of thyroid issues and possibly needing a tweek to my “happy pill”.

 

So my doctor gave me her full attention and found me a new “happy pill” with less side effects and targeting my serotonin in a more efficient way.  She also ordered a few blood tests.. to check the vitamins and thyroid and all that.  I had also decided to give up all pop and only one cup of coffee per day.

So back to the envelope… I had just arrived home from a lovely vacation, in which I partook in smores, egg casserole, hotdogs on the fire… you know the camping food drill.  I scrolled through the information noting my vitamins were all perfect and my thyroid was fine.  I was just about to pitch it when Josh peered over my shoulder and exclaimed “WOW, you have crazy high cholesterol!”

Numbers that meant nothing to me 30 seconds ago became my focus.  Bad cholesterol is high, good cholesterol is low… I already felt the heart attack happening.   The doctor highlighted the sentence that stated my high cholesterol and wrote a note:  “Please start a low fat, low carb diet and exercise often.

So I did.  Immediately.  I dropped 6 pounds in one week.  I dropped 5 the next.  I was not just eating low fat low carb, but I had researched what I should be eating to lower my cholesterol.  I bought Cheerios and almonds, Steel cut oats and flax seed.  Olive oil became my dressing of choice.

I began to really research food, and the better I ate, the better I felt.  No exhastion, no lack of focus, no cravings.  I started eating only foods that were “whole” or “natural”.  Nothing processed, nothing with enriched or bleached in the ingrediants.  And my total weight loss made it to 15 pounds.  And I feel great.  Every day.  Did I mention no cravings?  I have dieted on and off for 15 years.  I have lost it and gained it back plus a few.  I have done weight watchers, south beach, Dr. Oz, my fitness pall, the Beck Diet Solution….It was always a struggle, I was still fililng my body with unnatural foods and I felt crappy.

So I decided to step it up a notch.  I just watched a documentary called Forks over Knives.  It talked a lot about the concerns with meat and dairy in our diets.  So, I don’t think I will become a vegan, but I want to learn more so I committed to a five day vegan “fast”.  I do not anticipate being a vegan for life, but there are a lot of principles of “veganism” that I would like to learn more about and adopt.

I should also tell you I bought my kids happy meals for dinner….

4 thoughts on “Vegan for a week

  1. That’s great, Sarah! I wonder if I watched the same documentary? Brandon was just watching one on Netflix the other day that was all about how we shouldn’t be eating meat and dairy, and how they can actually link it to cancer. It really made a lot of sense to me. All week, I’ve been making a conscious effort to cook with less meat/dairy, and more whole foods like beans, lentils, veggies, etc. I don’t know that we would ever be able to go vegan, but we can definitely cut back on the bad stuff! 🙂

Leave a Reply

