Taking a Stand

In my wallet I have the following cards:

Biggby coffee (buy 12 get 1 free)

84 East/8th Street Grill frequent dinner

Another Biggby coffee card

2 supercuts waxing cards (buy 8, 9th is free)

My Arby’s reward card

Speedy Rewards Card

Mocha and Music (buy 9 get one free)

Jimmy Johns ( buy 10 get 1 free, valid only at Hudsonville Jimmy Johns)

2 Bagel Beanery coffee club cards

Bagel Beanery sandwich club cards

Every store, shop, coffee shop and restaurant has some type of card that will get you some kind of a deal  (Don’t even get me started about the lady at Meijer that stalks me and harasses me every time I am there to sign up for that card.)I clean them out of my wallet constantly, yet still can not give some up… something about that free coffee keeps me holding on.  But today, a certain store, bumped this “club card” idea to a new level….

I am checking out at D&W (grocery store).  The cashier asks me if I have a “you card”.  I don’t.  She then asks if I would like one.  “Not today”.  Well, that got her going… “Now, I just want you to know that if you don’t sign up for this card by Sunday, you can not sign up for it again and it is the only way for you to get the sale prices on our Spartan brand items” Really?  I have 2 days to sign up for a card that will allow me to get the sale price?  If I don’t do it today I may never get a better price in my life?  So I say “No thanks, it sounds pretty exclusive and discriminatory to me”.  She looks at me funny.  I pay her, but she has to try one more time.  “Can I at least send you home with the pamphlet?”  I stare at her, smile, and say no thanks.

This was the last straw for me.  I am now on an official boycott of D&W/Family Fare stores because of their crazy exclusive, can only sign up if the moon aligns with Jupiter card.  (I may stop there though if it is more convenient, but I REFUSE to use that crazy card).

Sometimes, in this world full of injustice, you just have to buckle down and take a stand.

Leave a Reply

