Chiggeralla

I had to think about posting this for a few days. But I decided to for a few reasons. First it is seriously funny, even if it did happen to me. Second, I hope people can learn from my mistake. Third, I posted about Chiggerellum, so I should also post about the opposite, Chiggerella (meaning “it IS a problem”) Finally, I think beyond the humor, what happened to me is life for many people.

Just a warning, this is a TMI post. If you are not interesting in knowing some gross personal info, please stop now.

On Monday and Tuesday we were in Nazereth (also called Adama) about 100 kilometers East of Addis. It is still a big town, much warmer and more humid than Addis” We drove down with 3 staff from YZM (Yoseph, Abraham and Nesibu) and two Bethany staff (Helina and Desalgn). I will tell you more about our time there later.

We had just left a foster family’s home where they had given us lots of Coke. I had been sleeping poorly so I was also drinking lots of bunna. Needless to say, before we started our 2 hour journey home on bumpy roads, I had to make a pit stop. We stopped at a nice hotel and I ran inside, leaving my purse in the car.

Once I got into the bathroom, I realized there were some “issues” going on. I have been struggling all week with my “GI system”, but thought I had it under control finally. I did not. I will leave out the details, but I am sure you can imagine. And finally when I was ready to hit the road, I reached for the toilet paper. EMPTY. I sat for a minute, trying to figure out what to do. There was another stall in the bathroom so I snuck over. I saw the white paper hanging from the roll…. Phew. Until I realized there was only 1 square left. CHIGGARELLA! BUTUM CHIGGARELLA!

At this point I have no idea what to do, there is no one anywhere and my purse is in the van along with a bunch of men. I figured it could not be that bad so I would head home and deal with it then. When we finally made it to lunch in Addis, I ran to the bathroom (with toilet paper, wet wipes, sanitizer the works….). I assessed the situation and the only solution I could come up with was to throw away the underwear and go commando the rest of the day.

And I did.

Caio for now!

4 thoughts on “Chiggeralla

  1. And that is why I cannot go to Ethiopia with you guys…I am way to high maintenance! You made me smile today!

  2. And Julie laughed at me (well maybe not laughed but sure gave me a funny look) when I gave her a roll of travel TP to throw in her bag. All the little tricks of traveling like checking the TP roll before you sit down.
    I love your post and feel like I’m experiencing the trip first hand without all the jet lag, upset tummies, mosquitoes, and no sleep.
    Hope the rest of your trip goes well.
    Bob – Dad

    • Ahhh yes, the toilet paper has definitely come in handy!! Although we are not always good at having it with us when we need it, but we are learning. Now if we could just figure out how to not get locked in the bathrooms…! I think my getting locked in count is up to 3 after today! Glad you are enjoying the blog Dad, it is only a small snippet of what we are experiencing, but I am glad that others can experience some of it through us!

Leave a Reply

